Welcome to my mind.  It’s my hope to use this blog to not only share my own thoughts and ideas, but also to gather some of yours.  I’ll do my best to update this regularly, and while I don’t promise to be eloquent at all times, I’ll do my best to be clear, concise and complete in my writing.  Those aren’t typically adjectives used to describe my writing, but I promise to make the effort.

My name is Alex and I am a scientist.  I do science.  I’ve been studying genetics, genomics and microbiology at Michigan State University for three-and-a-half years now, and have been working as a researcher for almost as long.  The truth is that I think I’ve been a scientist for as long as I can remember, which is to say that I’ve been taking a scientific approach to addressing questions throughout my life.  Life itself is what fascinates me, and so genetics became the focus of my studies.  There’s a lot I don’t understand, but want to, and so my hope is that through communicating with some of you, perhaps I can help fill the gaps and develop a deeper understanding of life (the universe, and everything).

I hope to contribute interesting thoughts and get some in return.  I’m looking forward to it.

